clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético prepare for away day at Getafe

A scarcely-believable streak is on the line at the Coliseum Alfonso Pérez.

Club Atletico de Madrid v Athletic Club - La Liga Santander
Marcos Llorente scored in this fixture during the 2019/20 season.
Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Atlético Madrid need a win on Tuesday — and based on recent history, there may not be a more preferable opponent than winless Getafe.

Atlético (3-2-0, 11 points) have kept 17 consecutive clean sheets against Tuesday’s hosts — and, including two Copa del Rey meetings in the 2012/13 season, 19 overall. Getafe (0-0-5, 0 points) have not scored a single goal against los rojiblancos since Nov. 6, 2011, one month before Diego Simeone took over as coach.

“Getafe are in a difficult moment, but they have competed well in all the games and have deserved much more than the results reflect,” Diego Simeone said Monday.

Getafe CF v Sevilla FC - La Liga Santander Photo by Angel Martinez/Getty Images

New Getafe coach Míchel is still in the job for the time being, but the azulones have never lost their opening six games in a season and will be without several players for Tuesday night’s game. Midfielders Mauro Arambarri and Jakub Jankto will not participate, along with forward Sandro (who has scored his side’s only goal this season) and Vitolo, who is on loan from Atlético.

Simeone’s squad lost another midfielder over the weekend, with Geoffrey Kondogbia unavailable due to an ankle sprain. He joins Koke and Thomas Lemar on the shelf, while João Félix will be suspended after incurring a red card during Saturday’s draw with Athletic Club.

“We absolutely have to improve in that regard (picking up too many cards),” Simeone said. “I have no doubt what we will. We are very respectful toward the Refereeing Committee. There are times when you can talk (to the referee) and we hope to lower those numbers that aren’t good.”

Club Atletico de Madrid v Athletic Club - La Liga Santander Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Simeone will hope to see an improvement in how his team generates chances, too, speaking about the need for more “forcefulness.”

“At this early stage in the season, I still affirm that forcefulness will make the difference between some teams and others,” Simeone said. “(Teams in LaLiga) play well, (they) run, work, press, and get into the dangerous areas in one way or another very well.

“The end of the play is what makes the difference, and much more so this year due to the parity that we are seeing. You watch any game, and it’s like that.”

Date Sept. 21, 2021

Location Coliseum Alfonso Pérez, Madrid

Kickoff time 7:30 p.m. CEST, 6:30 p.m. BST, 1:30 p.m. EST, 10:30 a.m. PST

Available TV/streaming ESPN+ (United States), Movistar+ (Spain), LaLiga TV (United Kingdom)