clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Levante UD-Atlético Madrid: Possible XI, prediction and how to watch LaLiga Santander 2020

Los Colchoneros seek more breathing room in the top four.

Club Atletico de Madrid v Real Valladolid CF - La Liga Photo by Alejandro Rios/DeFodi Images via Getty Images

Third-place Atlético Madrid can take another step toward Champions League qualification on Tuesday, when Diego Simeone’s crew takes on Levante in Valencia.

Levante are playing currently at the Camilo Cano Olympic Stadium in the Alicante suburb of La Nucía, as renovation efforts resume at the club’s Ciutat de València. This could be good news for Atlético, who have a terrible record at Levante’s ordinary home over the past decade.

Atleti sit level on points with Sevilla for third place and appear to be gaining steam at the right time. Simeone’s substitutes have notched four of the team’s six goals over the past two matchdays (and over a fourth of the team’s goals this league season). A slim win over tricky Valladolid on Saturday counted just as much as last week’s rampage at Osasuna, and the mattress makers’ defense has stayed steady without bedrock Felipe Monteiro — who will miss out on Tuesday as his recovery from a quad strain continues.

Aside from Šime Vrsaljko — whose return date is also unknown — Simeone has all other players available.


Possible XI Oblak; Trippier, Savić, Hermoso, Lodi; Thomas, Saúl, Correa, Koke; Félix, Costa.

Predicted scoreline 1-1. Atlético have won one at the Frogs since the 2010s began. Not good. Levante have shown up in big games this year, having scored dramatic late draws against European contenders Valencia and Sevilla over the past 10 days. Paco López’s side has played high-octane football for much of the season, beat Real Madrid AND Barcelona at home, and nearly snatched a point at the Wanda Metropolitano back in January. Smells to me like Atleti will engage in some huffing and puffing but end up sharing the points.

My record on the season 22-19


Date June 23, 2020

Location Estadio Camilo Cano, La Nucía, Alicante, Valencia, Spain

Kickoff time 7:30 p.m. CET, 6:30 p.m. GMT, 1:30 p.m. EST, 10:30 a.m. PST

Available TV/streaming Movistar LaLiga 3 (Spain), LaLiga TV (United Kingdom), beIN Sports (United States), DIRECTV Sports (Argentina), Sky (Mexico), SuperSport 1 (South Africa), WOWOW (Japan), iQiyi (China)