clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid-SD Eibar: LaLiga Santander 2019 kickoff time, TV and streaming

New, comment

Atlético seek sole possession of first place.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

CD Leganes v Club Atletico de Madrid - La Liga Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

A Saturday afternoon result in Pamplona gives Atlético Madrid a chance to vault five points ahead of Barcelona before the first international break.

Newly-promoted Osasuna rallied at El Sadar to snatch a 2-2 draw against the wounded champions. It may only be matchday three, but Atlético have been afforded a rare shot at breathing space even though Real Madrid have the late game at Villarreal.

Atleti will welcome Eibar to the capital on Sunday evening in a bid to take hold of first place in LaLiga. The Basque side dropped points in their opening two matches — a loss away at Mallorca and a draw against aforementioned Osasuna. Under José Luis Mendilibar, Los Armeros have overcome significant odds to establish themselves as a steady top-flight side, but their away record was wretched last season and isn’t looking so good this year, either.

Diego Simeone’s men have won eight of 10 league encounters against Eibar since 2014 and will welcome Diego Costa back into the fold for this one. His return to fitness coincides with Álvaro Morata’s knee sprain, and he is the only natural #9 in the squad as a result. Nikola Kalinić has been left out ahead of a possible deadline-day move to AS Roma, while Ángel Correa will miss his third consecutive game — this time with what is being called a viral infection.

Possible XI

Oblak; Trippier, Giménez, Savić, Lodi; Llorente, Saúl, Koke, Lemar; João Felix, Costa.

Predicted scoreline

2-0 Atlético. Eibar will be missing forward Sergi Enrich — a key player who scored in this fixture last September. Mendilibar’s men have not started well and are set to play a third consecutive away game to start the season. That’s rough, even as they have taken points at the Wanda Metropolitano the past two seasons. I foresee a first rojiblanco goal for João Félix and the continuation of Atleti’s perfect start.

Jeremy’s record on the season: 1-0-1

How to watch

Date: Sept. 1, 2019

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 7 p.m. CET, 6 p.m. GMT, 1 p.m. EST, 10 a.m. PST

Available TV/streaming: Movistar LaLiga 1, MiTele En Vivo (Spain), beIN Sports, fuboTV (United States), Eleven Sports 1 (Portugal), beIN Sports 2 (France), Match TV Football 1 (Russia), QQ Sports Live (China).