clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético San Luis-Atlético Madrid: Kickoff time, TV and streaming options

Los Colchoneros’ Mexican affiliate plays host as the preseason rolls on.

2019 MLS All-Star Game: MLS All-Stars v Atletico Madrid Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images

After a victory in Orlando, Atlético Madrid travel down to Mexico to take on Atlético San Luis.

Back in 2017, Atlético (Madrid) announced the acquisition of a 50 percent stake in Atlético (San Luis) after the original San Luis Fútbol Club relocated to Tuxtla Gutiérrez and became Jaguares de Chiapas. Last season, the current San Luis won the Apertura and Clausura tournaments in Ascenso MX to secure promotion to the top flight. In addition, they had the highest attendance in the second division by a wide margin.

Atlético have loaned out two players to their Saturday opponents — striker Nicolás Ibáñez and goalkeeper Axel Werner (who has been sent out on loan four times since 2016). San Luis’ squad is mostly made of loanees, the vast majority arriving from other Mexican teams.

The mattress makers are coming off another good preseason display. They defeated the MLS All-Stars 3-0 at rainy Exploria Stadium on Wednesday with goals from Marcos Llorente, João Félix and Diego Costa.

Atlético closed out their summer tour of the United States with three wins (one on penalties) and kept the MLS All-Stars at a comfortable distance throughout. Diego Simeone’s men held the hosts to two shots on target from 59 percent possession and registered 19 in total themselves, of which eight were on target. Wayne Rooney came closest in the first half and forced Antonio Adán into a fingertip save.

The new-look defense continued to gel — with particularly noteworthy displays from full backs Renán Lodi and Kieran Trippier — as the pace of play picked up in the second half. That was when Félix and Costa put the match out of reach with two goals in the final minutes.

How to watch

Date: Aug. 3, 2019

Location: Estadio Alfonso Lastras, San Luis, San Luis Potosí, Mexico

Kickoff time: 7:00 p.m. CET, 6:00 p.m. GMT, 1:00 p.m. EST, 12:00 p.m. CDT

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A (FMF State of Mind for general Mexican football)

Available TV/streaming: Gol (Spain), ESPN2 Norte, ESPN Play Norte (Mexico and throughout Central America)