clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid-Getafe CF: LaLiga Santander 2019 kickoff time, TV and streaming

New, comments

It’s go time.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Atletico de Madrid v Juventus - 2019 International Champions Cup Photo by Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

LaLiga Santander is back, and Atlético Madrid have a chance to capitalize on Barcelona’s poor start as they welcome Getafe to Estadio Wanda Metropolitano on Sunday night.

Barça’s surprising 1-0 loss at Athletic Club on Friday night means a retooled Atlético can start the new season in an unfamiliar position — ahead of the Catalans — with a win in this mini-derbi.

It was a summer of change in Madrid, as Getafe have boosted their forward corps to prepare for their upcoming Europa League campaign. Atleti have named new captains, made eight signings and are trying for a ninth, but a deal for Valencia forward Rodrigo Moreno has stalled and may be called off entirely. The Spain international started and donned the captain’s band in a 1-1 home draw with Real Sociedad on Saturday.

Anyway, back to this fixture, which Diego Simeone’s men have dominated since the Argentine took over in Dec. 2011. Atlético are 12-1-0 against Getafe in LaLiga since Simeone took charge and remarkably have kept clean sheets in each match — while scoring 27 goals themselves. That said, los Colchoneros have not won their season opener since 2015/16. Optimism about ending that run is high, given the mattress makers’ unbeaten preseason.

Possible XI

Oblak; Trippier, Savić, Giménez, Lodi; Llorente, Saúl, Koke, Lemar; João Félix, Morata.

Predicted scoreline

1-0, Atlético. This is a tough match to open up the season. Getafe are a tough, physical counterattacking outfit, and they will no doubt try to nip at João Félix and Thomas Lemar as often as they can. But Atleti should have enough quality to grab a lead and can rely on Jan Oblak if (when) things get hairy in the closing minutes.

How to watch

Date: Aug. 18, 2019

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 10:00 p.m. CET, 9:00 p.m. GMT, 4:00 p.m. EST, 1:00 p.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: MiTele En Vivo, Movistar+ (Spain), beIN Sports, fubo.tv (United States), Eleven Sports 1 (Portugal), Fox Premium (Brazil), beIN Sports 1 (France), Sportklub 2 (Slovenia), PPTV Sport (China).