clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Real Madrid-Atlético Madrid: International Champions Cup kickoff time, TV and streaming

New, comments

Preseason bragging rights are up for grabs in this stateside derbi.

SOCCER: JUL 23 International Champions Cup - Chivas de Guadalajara v Atletico de Madrid Photo by Matthew Visinsky/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

New Jersey is the site, Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid are the teams, and the International Champions Cup is the competition as the capital clubs carry on with their preseason preparations.

Real and Atlético have undergone significant transformations this summer, as both clubs have doled out in excess of €240 million to retool their squads. Los Blancos have made the splashier signings — Eden Hazard, Luka Jović and Ferland Mendy are expected to be central pieces of Zinedine Zidane’s rebuild. Los Colchoneros, though, parted with €126 million to sign João Félix in the single largest transfer on the continent this summer. The two teams even did a deal between them in June, when Marcos Llorente swapped shirts for €30 million plus bonuses.

Though the Portuguese phenom is not expected to play Friday night due to a slow-healing thigh contusion, plenty of other stars will collide in East Rutherford in this first derbi of the new season. It’s the second consecutive year Atlético and Real Madrid will meet prior to LaLiga’s start — last year, Atleti took home the UEFA Super Cup in a dramatic extra time win.

How to watch

Date: July 26, 2019

Location: MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey

Kickoff time: 2:06 a.m. CET, 1:06 a.m. GMT, 8:06 p.m. EST, 5:06 p.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: Managing Madrid (read our Q&A with them)

Available TV/streaming: Gol, LaLiga Sports TV (Spain), Premier Sports 1 (United Kingdom), ESPN, ESPN Deportes (United States), Sport TV1 (Portugal), FOX Sports 1 (Brazil), DIRECTV Sports (Colombia), PPTV Sport (China).