clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Deportivo Alavés-Atlético Madrid: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Liga Santander 2019

New, comment

Atlético return to the Basque Country for a top-five clash.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Club Atletico de Madrid v Deportivo Alaves - La Liga Photo by Denis Doyle/Getty Images

LaLiga action resumes Saturday night for Atlético Madrid, as they return from international break to take on Deportivo Alavés at Mendizorrotza.

Atlético were left to fume over losses to Juventus and Athletic Bilbao during the international break and will look to get back to winning ways on matchday 29. They have already beaten Alavés once this season — Diego Simeone’s men notched a big 3-0 win at home back in December and will seek to the do the double over the Basques for the second year running.

But the hosts are on a roll, as they entered the break unbeaten in their last six and just two points off the final Champions League place. Abelardo has kept his side afloat despite key personnel losses (Jony, Ibai Gómez) and Alavés have lost only once at home all season. That’s not good news for an Atlético team that has won five of 14 away from the Wanda Metropolitano this term.

Simeone seems set to start his expensive Diego Costa-Antoine Griezmann-Álvaro Morata trident again, even as they failed to register a shot on target in the 2-0 loss to Athletic on matchday 28. Rodri’s suspension opens up a place for Thomas Partey in the middle, and Filipe Luís is expected to return and start following his recovery from a foot injury.

Possible XI

Oblak; Juanfran, Giménez, Godín, Filipe Luís; Thomas, Koke, Saúl, Griezmann; Costa, Morata.

Predicted scoreline

Alavés 1-1 Atlético.

How to watch

Date: March 30, 2019

Location: Mendizorrotza, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Álava, Euskadi, Spain

Kickoff time: 8:45 p.m. CET, 7:45 p.m. GMT, 3:45 p.m. EST, 12:45 p.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: Movistar+, beIN LaLiga (Spain), Eleven Sports 1 (United Kingdom), fubo.tv, beIN Sports (United States), beIN Sports 1 (France), Canal+ Sport 2 Afrique (Ghana), ESPN2 Sur (Uruguay), PPTV Sport (China).