clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Juventus FC-Atlético Madrid: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Champions League 2019

New, comment

Ninety minutes from a Champions League quarterfinal.

Club Atletico de Madrid v CD Leganes - La Liga Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

A UEFA Champions League quarterfinal place is on the line Tuesday night as Atlético Madrid take a 2-0 lead into the second leg of their tie with Juventus.

Three weeks ago, Atlético produced a scintillating display at A Stadium Called Wanda and got two late goals from defenders to push Cristiano Ronaldo’s Juve to the brink. However, the Portuguese is not expected to go gently into that good night as his historical goal-scoring record against Atleti would indicate, and the Italian champions have lost just once at home in all competitions this season.

Diego Simeone’s men enter this match having won their last five by an 8-0 aggregate scoreline. Atlético’s defense continues to improve despite a rash of injuries, and the attack has done enough despite Antoine Griezmann’s mini-drought — he has not scored or assisted a goal in nearly a month.

Simeone has no available natural left backs and will turn to Juanfran to handle the position. Diego Godín trained normally in Turin and will return after he missed the Leganés win through yellow card accumulation. Thomas Partey’s suspension means Thomas Lemar will start after he came off the bench in the first leg. Diego Costa is suspended as well, meaning the Griezmann-Álvaro Morata pairing is a foregone conclusion.

Under Simeone, Atlético have conceded just once in four official encounters away against Juventus, Lazio, AC Milan and Roma.

Possible XI

Oblak; Arias, Giménez, Godín, Juanfran; Rodri, Saúl, Koke, Lemar; Griezmann, Morata.

Predicted scoreline

Juventus 2-1 Atlético (2-3 aggregate).

How to watch

Date: March 12, 2019

Location: Juventus Stadium, Turin, Italy

Kickoff time: 9:00 p.m. CET, 8:00 p.m. GMT, 4:00 p.m. EST, 1:00 p.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: Black and White and Read All Over

Available TV/streaming: Movistar Liga de Campeones (Spain), BT Sport 3 (United Kingdom), B/R Live, TNT, Univision (United States), RMC Sport 1 (France), Sky Sport Uno (Italy), FOX Play Sur (Argentina), FOX Sports Cono Sur (Uruguay), CCTV-5 (China).