clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid-Juventus FC: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Champions League 2019

This match should need no introduction.

Rayo Vallecano de Madrid v Club Atletico de Madrid - La Liga Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Wednesday will see Atlético Madrid play arguably their biggest match of the season to date, as they welcome Italian champions Juventus to A Stadium Called Wanda.

Juve — one of the favorites to win this competition — will be hoping to see this stadium again on June 1, while Atlético will seek to advance their own dreams of hosting the Champions League final. Cristiano Ronaldo — who helped put Atlético to the proverbial sword each year between 2014 and 2017 — will make his return to the Spanish capital following his dramatic summer exit from Real Madrid, and ex-colchonero Mario Mandžukić will stop by alongside him.

Atlético and Juventus do not have an extensive history in the modern era and last met in the 2014/15 group stage. Atleti secured a 1-0 home win and nabbed a 0-0 draw away to go through as Group A winners prior to a quarterfinal exit to Cristiano’s Madrid side. The two coaches that season — Max Allegri and Diego Simeone — remain in their current positions and promote a similar style of football, making this tie a close, nail-biting affair on paper.

Simeone is expected to turn to his veterans in defense for this crucial battle, as Juanfran will likely return to right back with Filipe Luís slotting in for the injured Lucas Hernández. Koke — back from injury — will start, and Thomas Partey will return from his Liga suspension. It appears as if Diego Costa will start from the bench and Álvaro Morata will get the nod against his old team.

Possible XI

Oblak; Juanfran, Godín, Giménez, Filipe Luís; Thomas, Rodri, Saúl, Koke; Griezmann, Morata.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético 1-0 Juventus.

How to watch

Date: Feb. 20, 2019

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 9:00 p.m. CET, 8:00 p.m. GMT, 3:00 p.m. EST, Noon PST

SB Nation opposition blog: Black and White and Read All Over (check out our Q&A with them, and theirs with us)

Available TV/streaming: Movistar Liga de Campeones (Spain), BT Sport 3 (United Kingdom), B/R Live, TNT, Univision (United States), RMC Sport 1 (France), Sky Sport Uno, Sky Go (Italy), SuperSport 5 Africa (Ghana), CCTV-5 (China).