clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

VfB Stuttgart-Atlético Madrid: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch

Atlético’s preseason continues with a tilt at Mercedes-Benz Arena.

Paris Saint Germain v Club Atletico de Madrid - International Champions Cup 2018 Photo by Thananuwat Srirasant/Getty Images for ICC

Following their pair of International Champions Cup games in Singapore, Atlético Madrid’s summer travels roll on as Diego Simeone’s men get set for a friendly against VfB Stuttgart.

More of Simeone’s World Cup stars have returned and are expected to feature in this match, which will celebrate Stuttgart’s 125th anniversary. Tayfun Korkut’s side finished seventh in an impressive first season back in the Bundesliga and even feature a World Cup winner in their ranks — France right back Benjamin Pavard.

But Pavard will be merely a spectator in this match, alongside national teammates Antoine Griezmann and Lucas Hernández. Simeone has brought Thomas Lemar with him though, and Spain internationals Koke and Saúl Ñíguez will get their first preseason action as well with the UEFA Super Cup just 11 days away. Many Juvenil players — including Borja Garcés and Victor Mollejo — also made the trip to Atlético’s impromptu training base in Bruneck, near the Austrian border.

Diego Godín and José Giménez remained in Spain, along with new signing Gelson Martins, Diego Costa, Filipe Luís, Thomas Partey and Luciano Vietto.

How to watch

Date: Aug. 5, 2018

Location: Mercedes-Benz Arena, Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Kickoff time: 4:45 p.m. CEST, 3:45 p.m. GMT/BST, 10:45 a.m. EST, 7:45 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: Gol (Spain), ESPN Deportes, ESPN3 (United States), SWR Fernsehen (Germany)

For more listings, check out livesoccertv.com.