clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid-Rayo Vallecano: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Liga Santander 2018

LaLiga action returns to the Wanda Metropolitano.

Atletico Madrid v Malaga - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The Wanda Metropolitano’s gates will open for the first time this season on Saturday evening, when Atlético Madrid play host to neighbors Rayo Vallecano.

This is Rayo’s first visit to Atlético’s new stadium, and it comes after Sevilla handed out a 4-1 thrashing at Vallecas on matchday one. The newly-promoted side have not beaten Atleti away in 19 years, and los colchoneros are unbeaten in their past eight games against Rayo dating back to 2013.

Diego Simeone’s men were held to a 1-1 draw at Valencia to begin the season and will look to kickstart their title challenge at home by picking up where they left off in 2017/18. Atlético lost just once in league play at the new Metropolitano last season and conceded only eight goals across 19 games.

All indications point to Simeone rolling out a nearly-identical XI to the one that drew at Mestalla on Monday. It’s expected that Cholo’s one change will be to insert Lucas Hernández (fresh off suspension) for the disgruntled Filipe Luís — who has been told he can go if Paris Saint-Germain pay a fee close to his €30 million release clause.

Possible XI

Oblak; Juanfran, Savić, Godín, Lucas; Saúl, Koke, Lemar, Correa; Griezmann, Costa.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético Madrid 3-0 Rayo Vallecano.

How to watch

Date: Aug. 25, 2018

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 8:15 p.m. CEST, 7:15 p.m. GMT/BST, 2:15 p.m. EST, 11:15 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A (Q&A with Rayo fan and journalist Paul Reidy)

Available TV/streaming: beIN LaLiga, Movistar+ (Spain), Eleven Sports 1 (United Kingdom), beIN Sports (United States), beIN Sports Connect (France), DIRECTV Sports (Uruguay), QQ Sports Live (China)