clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Real Madrid-Atlético Madrid: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch European Super Cup 2018

New, comment

The UEFA Super Cup takes place on Wednesday night — and it’s a Madrid derby.

Real Madrid v Atletico Madrid - UEFA Super Cup Previews Photo by Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

What better way to start the season with a Madrid derby and a trophy on the line?

Atlético Madrid play Real Madrid on Wednesday night in Tallinn’s 15,000 seat A. Le Coq Arena. Diego Simeone tested out his XI during training for the last couple days and Antoine Griezmann played with the expected starters. If that is Simeone’s selected XI when he names his side on Wednesday, (one that Mono Burgos will coach, as Cholo is suspended) it would make sense as Griezmann looks to make another assault on the Ballon d’Or after last month’s triumph in Russia.

Real Madrid v Atletico Madrid - UEFA Super Cup Previews Photo by Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

After winning the World Cup, Griezmann came back from his holidays and asked Simeone if he could play in the last preseason friendly against Inter Milan in order to be ready for Tallinn.

Meanwhile, Thomas Lemar and Rodri look to be the other two summer additions who will make the cut.

Thibaut Courtois won’t make his debut against his former team after signing for Real Madrid. He isn’t in Lopetegui’s match day squad and Keylor Navas will play in goal instead.

Possible XI

Oblak; Juanfran, Giménez, Godín, Filipe Luís; Rodri, Koke, Saúl, Lemar, Griezmann; Costa.

How to watch

Date: Aug. 8, 2018

Location: A. Le Coq Arena, Tallinn, Estonia.

Kickoff time: 21:00 CEST, 20:00 GMT/BST, 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST

SB Nation opposition blog: Managing Madrid (we also did a Q&A with them before the game that you can check out here).

Available TV/streaming

United Kingdom: BT Sport Live, BT Sport 2, BT Sport 4K UHD

United States: Univision, B/R Live, Watch TNT, TNT USA, Univision Deportes

For more listings, head over to livesoccertv.com.