clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sporting CP-Atlético Madrid: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Europa League 2018

Atlético will try to avoid drama in Lisbon.

Atletico Madrid v Sporting CP - UEFA Europa League Quarter Final Leg One

Atlético Madrid will hope to steer clear of the drama that has taken place elsewhere in European competition this week and secure safe passage to the Europa League semifinals.

Atlético are in Lisbon for a Thursday night showdown with Sporting Clube de Portugal and have a 2-0 lead from the first leg in Madrid. But Roma’s famous comeback versus Barcelona on Tuesday night — combined with Juventus’ fightback against Real Madrid on Wednesday — will undoubtedly buoy Sporting into believing they can progress. Indeed, Jorge Jesus’ men played pretty well in the first leg and were perhaps unlucky not to take a goal back to the Alvalade.

However, Fábio Coentrão and Bas Dost won’t be going to the Alvalade on Thursday, either — they are both suspended for yellow card accumulation. Jesus also looks set to be without left back Cristiano Piccini and midfielder William Carvalho, as both players are injured.

For Atlético, there are no suspensions and only positive injury news. José Giménez has been declared fit after he suffered a nasty ankle injury over the international break. Ángel Correa is a yellow card from missing a potential semifinal first leg, so he’ll need to be careful, but otherwise the team sheet submitted by Diego Simeone shouldn’t have many surprises.

Possible XI

Oblak; Vrsaljko, Giménez, Godín, Lucas; Gabi, Saúl, Correa, Koke; Griezmann, Costa.

Predicted scoreline

Sporting Clube de Portugal 1-1 Atlético Madrid.

How to watch

Date: April 12, 2018

Location: Estádio José Alvalade, Lisbon, Portugal

Kickoff time: 21:05 CEST, 20:05, GMT/BST, 3:05 p.m. EST, 12:05 p.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: Movistar+, beIN Sports Connect (Spain), BT Sport 3, BT Sport Live (United Kingdom), ESPN Deportes (United States), SIC (Portugal), beIN Sports 2 (France), Sina Sports, PPTV Sport (China)

For more listings, head over to livesoccertv.com.