clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid-Lokomotiv Moscow: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Europa League 2018

New, comments

Atlético want to bounce back from Sunday’s disheartening loss at Camp Nou.

Atletico Madrid v FC Copenhagen - UEFA Europa League Photo by Denis Doyle/Getty Images

The Europa League Round of 16 kicks off at A Stadium Called Wanda on Thursday night, as Atlético Madrid welcome Lokomotiv Moscow for the first leg.

Lokomotiv advanced to the last 16 following a 4-2 aggregate win over French side Nice, and like Atlético are in the midst of an impressive domestic season. The Russian side are seven points clear of FC Krasnodar and are on course to win their first league title for 14 years. Atleti, of course, had the chance to open up the Spanish title race on Sunday, but fell 1-0 at Barcelona and are now eight points behind the Catalans.

Diego Simeone will make a couple changes from the team that lost to Barça. Juanfran — now essentially the cup full back — is expected to step in for Šime Vrsaljko, and Ángel Correa could start in place of Gabi to give Atleti a more attacking look. Diego Costa — who missed both legs of the Copenhagen tie — is likely to start and appear in his first Europa League contest since 2013.

(UPDATE: Jan Oblak has a physical issue — Marca say he has a hand injury, AS say it’s a groin problem — and is set to miss this match. Axel Werner will start in his place.)

Lokomotiv are unbeaten in the past 10 between the Russian Premier League and the Europa League and saw an eight-game winning run ended by a 0-0 against Spartak Moscow on Sunday.

Possible XI

Werner; Juanfran, Godín, Giménez, Filipe Luís; Thomas, Saúl, Correa, Koke; Griezmann, Costa.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético Madrid 2-0 Lokomotiv Moscow.

How to watch

Date: March 8, 2018

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 19:00 CEST, 18:00 GMT/BST, 1 p.m. EST, 10 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: beIN Sports, Movistar+ (Spain), WatchESPN, ESPN3 (United States), BT Sport Showcase, BT Sport 3 (United Kingdom), Match TV Game, NTV+ Sport Online (Russia), beIN Sports MAX 4 (France), PPTV Sport (China)

For more listings, head over to livesoccertv.com.