clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid-Celta Vigo: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Liga Santander 2018

New, comment

Atlético are out to prove last week’s result in Catalonia was just a blip on the radar.

Atletico Madrid v CD Leganes - La Liga Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Celta Vigo are next up for Atlético Madrid on Sunday afternoon, as Diego Simeone’s men look to consolidate second place in LaLiga following last week’s disappointing loss at Barcelona.

Atlético recovered somewhat from that 1-0 defeat at Camp Nou by beating Lokomotiv Moscow 3-0 on Thursday. That result effectively locked up a place in the Europa League quarterfinals, but Simeone still has one eye on the league — if not for first place, then certainly for second, as nearest challengers Real Madrid won their fifth league contest from the past six on Saturday, beating Eibar 2-1.

After some doubts midweek, Celta boss Unzué confirmed that he will be able to count on talisman Iago Aspas for this fixture, one that is crucial to the Galicians’ chances at staying in the Europa League hunt. As for Atlético, Simeone revealed Saturday that Jan Oblak is set to start after hand and gluteus injuries kept him sidelined Thursday. Local reports indicate that Simeone will also give Filipe Luís a rest Sunday and hand Vitolo a rare start — just the Canary Islander’s second in LaLiga since joining Atleti in January.

Atlético have not lost to Celta in league play since Feb. 2015, and the last time Celta beat Atlético at home was in June 2007.

Possible XI

Oblak; Vrsaljko, Giménez, Godín, Lucas; Gabi, Saúl, Koke, Vitolo; Griezmann, Costa.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético Madrid 2-1 Celta Vigo.

How to watch

Date: March 11, 2018

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 16:15 CEST, 15:15 GMT/BST, 10:15 a.m. EST, 8:15 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: beIN LaLiga (Spain), Sky Sports Red Button, Sky Go Extra (United Kingdom), beIN Sports en Español, beIN Sports Connect, fuboTV (United States), beIN Sports MAX 8 (France), QQ Sports Live, PPTV Sport (China)

For more listings, head over to livesoccertv.com.