clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid - FC Copenhagen: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Europa League 2018

New, comment

Atlético are set to sail smoothly into the Europa League last 16.

Atletico Madrid v Athletic Club - La Liga Photo by Denis Doyle/Getty Images

It should be a very low-stress 90 minutes for Atlético Madrid against Copenhagen on Thursday night, as los colchoneros boast a 4-1 lead over the Danish champions entering the return leg.

A dominant outing last week — propelled by goals from Saúl Ñíguez, Kévin Gameiro, Antoine Griezmann and Vitolo Machín — has seen Atlético race clear of their opposition and will afford Diego Simeone the opportunity to rest key players before a massive trip to Sevilla in LaLiga on Sunday.

While Simeone has yet to reveal who he’s called up for this match, speculation has been rife about players who players who may or may not be around come the summer — or in Yannick Carrasco’s case, the end of the month. When asked during his press conference, Simeone refused to say whether Fernando Torres would stay with Atlético past this season, even as he is slated to receive a home start Thursday.

Elsewhere, with Lucas Hernández out with a hamstring knock and Filipe Luís likely to rest, Simeone might hand a first European start to canterano Sergi González. This is little chance Griezmann and/or Diego Costa play, let alone start, against a Copenhagen side that is also set to rotate due to a demanding run of league fixtures.

Possible XI

Oblak; Juanfran, Giménez, Godín, Sergi; Koke, Gabi, Correa, Vitolo; Gameiro, Torres.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético Madrid 0-0 Copenhagen.

How to watch

Date: Feb. 22, 2018

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 19:00 CEST, 18:00 GMT/BST, 1:00 p.m. EST, 10:00 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: Movistar+, beIN Sports (Spain), BT Sport Extra (United Kingdom), ESPN Deportes, watchESPN, Fox Soccer Plus, fuboTV (United States), beIN Sports MAX 4 (France), Eurosport Player (Denmark), PPTV Sport (China)

For more listings, head over to livesoccertv.com.