clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How and where to watch 2019 UEFA Champions League Round of 16 draw

New, comments

Atlético will likely take on a giant to kick off the UCL knockout stages.

Club Atletico de Madrid v AS Monaco - UEFA Champions League Group A Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

A second-place finish in Group A via goal difference has put Atlético Madrid in the unenviable position of facing an elite club early in this season’s UEFA Champions League.

Diego Simeone’s men advanced out of the group stage this year after crashing into the Europa League a season ago, but Atlético lost their chance to top their group after a 0-0 draw at Club Brugge last week. Borussia Dortmund took top spot instead following their 2-0 win over Monaco.

Here’s the rundown of who Atlético could draw:

  • French champions and Group C winners Paris Saint-Germain.
  • Portuguese champions and Group D winners Porto.
  • German champions and Group E winners Bayern Munich.
  • English champions and Group F winners Manchester City.
  • Italian champions and Group H winners Juventus.

A matchup with Porto is the obvious preference, but that said it seems unlikely that anyone will want to face Atlético. Both Manchester City and PSG have struggled to make deep European runs since their takeovers, and this Bayern does not appear to be the force of recent years. Juventus, meanwhile, have a healthy advantage in Serie A and boast old nemesis Cristiano Ronaldo — they might be the team to avoid.

Predicted draw

PSG-Atlético.

How to watch

Date: Dec. 17, 2018

Location: Nyon, Switzerland

Time: 12:00 p.m. CET, 11:00 a.m. GMT, 6:00 a.m. EST, 3:00 a.m. PST

Available TV/streaming: Eurosport Spain, Movistar+ (Spain), BT Sport 2 (United Kingdom), B/R Live (United States), RMC Sport Live (France), DAZN, Sky Sport News (Germany), SKY Go Italia (Italy), Eurosport Portugal (Portugal).