clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid-Real Sociedad: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Liga Santander 2018

The hosts really could use a win.

Atletico Madrid v Real Sociedad - La Liga Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

A bounceback is needed Saturday night when Atlético Madrid host Real Sociedad in LaLiga.

Atlético were humbled in Germany earlier this week as Borussia Dortmund rolled to a 4-0 win in Champions League Group A action. With concerns ranging from an ineffective attack to minimal rotations and spotty fullback play, it would behoove the mattress makers to put in a strong performance at the Wanda Metropolitano.

Perhaps fortunately, Real Sociedad have had limited success in this fixture in recent seasons. Atlético have beaten La Real on their last five trips to the capital, and the Basque side has failed to score from open play on each visit. A victory could push Atleti into LaLiga’s top three depending on how Sunday plays out — particularly, how El Clásico plays out.

The red and whites will be short in defense once more, as Juanfran is suspended and José Giménez continues to nurse his latest injury. There have been few rumblings as to the side Simeone will field, and the Argentine may persist with the lineup that lost at Dortmund (or recreate it as close as he can).

Possible XI

Oblak; Arias, Godín, Lucas, Filipe Luís; Saúl, Rodri, Koke, Lemar; Griezmann, Costa.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético Madrid 2-0 Real Sociedad.

How to watch

Date: Oct. 27, 2018

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 8:45 p.m. CEST, 7:45 p.m. GMT/BST, 2:45 p.m. EST, 11:45 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: Movistar+ (Spain), Eleven Sports 1 (United Kingdom), beIN Sports (United States), beIN Sports 2 (France), DAZN (Germany), beIN Sports Connect (Syria), QQ Sports Live (China).