clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid - Getafe: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Liga Santander 2018

LaLiga returns with some spicy derby action.

Lleida vs Atletico de Madrid - Spanish King's Cup Photo by Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto via Getty Images

LaLiga is back, and Atlético Madrid will kick off 2018 action with a mini-derby against Getafe.

Atlético lost their last league outing at Espanyol on Dec. 22, but the mood is optimistic following a Copa del Rey bashing of Lleida on Wednesday. The 4-0 win was punctuated with a (re) debut goal for Diego Costa and served as a good start to the new year.

Diego Simeone will be without key players Filipe Luís (hamstring injury) and Saúl Ñíguez (suspension), but Costa is expected to make his first Liga Santander start since May 2014 in a major boost to Simeone’s strike force. Yannick Carrasco and Ángel Correa could round out a very attacking XI.

Getafe bounced right back from Segunda and currently sit in the top half with a +6 goal difference, the best of any team outside the top four. José Bordalás’ side doesn’t play pretty by any means, but their style has been very effective; it’s frustrated Real Madrid and Barcelona and actually beaten Valencia.

Atlético could be buoyed by the visitors’ putrid goalscoring record against them. Getafe last scored against Atleti in a 3-2 home win on Nov. 6, 2011. It’s been even longer — a 3-0 win at the end of the 2009/10 season — since they’ve notched a goal as the visitors.

Possible XI

Oblak; Vrsaljko, Savić, Godín, Lucas; Gabi, Koke, Carrasco, Correa; Griezmann, Costa.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético Madrid 2-0 Getafe.

How to watch

Date: Jan. 6, 2018

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 13:00 CEST, 12:00 BST/GMT, 7:00 a.m. EST, 4:00 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: beIN Sports Connect España, beIN LaLiga (Spain), beIN Sports USA, beIN Sports en Español, fuboTV (United States), Sky Sports Football, Sky Go UK (United Kingdom), beIN Sports 2 (France), FOX Sports 1 Brasil (Brazil)

For more listings, head over to livesoccertv.com.