clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Atlético Madrid - Sevilla: Time, TV, streaming and how to watch Copa del Rey 2018

New, comments

All signs point to a juicy quarterfinal first leg.

La Liga 2017-18 - Atletico de Madrid vs Villarreal CF Photo by Power Sport Images/Getty Images

The Copa del Rey continues midweek, as Atlético Madrid host Sevilla in the first leg of their quarterfinal tie.

This quarterfinal is arguably the most intriguing matchup on paper despite pitting together two sides trending in opposite directions. Three-time defending champions Barcelona are heavily favored to oust Espanyol, while Valencia aren’t expected to have many problems with Alavés and Real Madrid — for all their recent struggles — should knock off Leganés.

Atlético will receive a couple boosts prior to kickoff. Gabi, Stefan Savić and Diego Costa are all back from suspension, and none was required to hold off Eibar at the weekend. Kévin Gameiro and Antoine Griezmann were substituted in that 1-0 win, granting both some extra rest ahead of what likely will be an intense, ill-tempered affair.

What’s more, the timing of this first leg appears firmly to be in Atlético’s favor. Sevilla are a team currently in free fall; despite comfortable passage to the Copa quarterfinals, the Andalusians are on their second manager in Vincenzo Montella and lost 1-0 to relegation-threatened Alavés on Sunday, the fifth straight league contest they have lost or drawn. And Sevilla have already suffered a defeat at the Wanda Metropolitano this season, falling 2-0 back in September.

Possible XI

Moyá; Juanfran, Savić, Godín, Lucas; Saúl, Gabi, Vitolo, Koke; Costa, Griezmann.

Predicted scoreline

Atlético 2-0 Sevilla.

How to watch

Date: Jan. 17, 2018

Location: Estadio Wanda Metropolitano, Madrid, Spain

Kickoff time: 19:00 CEST, 18:00 GMT/BST, 1 p.m. EST, 10 a.m. PST

SB Nation opposition blog: N/A

Available TV/streaming: beIN LaLiga, beIN Sports Connect España (Spain), beIN Sports USA, beIN Sports en Español, fuboTV (United States), beIN Sports 2 (France)

For more listings, head over to livesoccertv.com.