clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eibar-Atlético Madrid: Preview

Atlético travel to Ipurúa for a showdown with surprising Eibar

2016 La Liga Football Atletico Madrid v SD Eibar Feb 6th Photo by Enrique de la Fuente/ActionPlus/Corbis via Getty Images

Mid-table SD Eibar (6-5-5, 23 points) will look to snap a three-game winless streak against Atlético Madrid (8-4-4, 28 points) in the first Liga Santander match of 2017 for both sides.

Eibar have not won any of its past three league games after winning back-to-back fixtures beforehand. The team is currently in the eighth spot of the LaLiga table, three games behind seventh-place Athletic Club Bilbao and five points below sixth-place Atlético. Los Armeros had to settle for a 1-1 draw against 10-man Leganés on the road at the Butarque Municipal Stadium on Dec. 18 for their second straight drawn match. Meanwhile, Atleti snapped a quick two-game winless run by beating Las Palmas, 1-0, at Estadio Vicente Calderón on Dec. 17. Promising young midfielder Saúl Ñíguez scored the winning goal of the contest for Diego Simeone's squad one minute before the hour-mark with a left-footed curling shot from outside of the box.

It was only the second win for los colchoneros in their last six matches and the mattress makers remain sixth and nine points behind leaders Real Madrid. However, Atleti are only a point behind fourth and fifth-place squads Villarreal and Real Sociedad.

Prediction and Predicted Lineups

The predicted result is a 3-0 romp by Atlético. Atleti looked comprehensive in its 2-0 win over Las Palmas in the Copa del Rey on Tuesday, with star man Antoine Griezmann back to his best, scoring a goal and nearly netting another. But regardless, Atleti will be raring to start the 2017 league fixtures - a very important slate for Champions League qualification - with a win.

Eibar starting lineup (4-4-2 formation): Yoel; Luna, Lejeune, Arbilla, Gálvez; Inui, García, Escalante, Leon; Peña, Enrich.

Atletico Madrid starting lineup (4-4-2 formation): Moyà; Vrsaljko, Godín, Savic, Filipe Luís; Koke, Saúl, Gabi, Juanfran; Griezmann, Torres.