clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Caio Henrique and Nicolas Schiappacasse in Atletico’s UCL squad

And Juanfran is listed as a forward.

Tottenham Hotspur v Atletico De Madrid - 2016 International Champions Cup Australia Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images

UEFA have confirmed Atletico Madrid’s squad for the upcoming Champions League group stage and while the majority of the team is as expected, there are two surprise inclusions who could make cameos if things break right.

Brazilian starlet Caio Henrique has been named to the group stage squad after an impressive preseason. Diego Simeone has not yet utilized the 19-year-old winger in LaLiga but had his head turned by the ex-Santos man during the preseason - so much so that Caio secured himself a renewal to 2022 with a 30 million euro buyout clause.

Nicolas Schiappacasse’s name is one Atletico supporters have heard the past couple years and he too has been named to the group stage squad. The 17-year-old Uruguyan’s long-mooted - albeit complicated - move to the Spanish capital was consummated this summer and the striker has linked up with Atleti’s B team to start this season. However, it’s not expected that he stays long in Tercera - he has gobs of potential and made 24 appearances (with four goals) for River Plate Montevideo in his home country.

You can view the full squad below or on UEFA’s website here. (There you’ll see I wasn’t lying in the dek hed - UEFA really have gone and listed Juanfran as a forward!)

And yes, Alessio Cerci is here too, offering further confirmation that Atletico have resigned themselves to holding onto him until at least the January window before pawning him off on some poor, unsuspecting Italian side. I’m sure they’re loving that in the Vicente Calderon offices.

Goalkeepers: Miguel Angel Moyà, Jan Oblak, Andre Moreira

Defenders: Diego Godin, Filipe Luis, Stefan Savic, Sime Vrsaljko, Lucas Hernandez, Jose Maria Gimenez

Midfielders: Tiago, Koke, Saul Niguez, Augusto Fernandez, Gabi, Alessio Cerci, Thomas Partey, Nicolas Gaitan, Caio Henrique Oliveira Silva

Forwards: Antoine Griezmann, Fernando Torres, Yannick Carrasco, Angel Correa, Juanfran, Kevin Gameiro, Nicolas Javier Schiappacasse Oliva