clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Yannick Carrasco Takes Number 10 Shirt

Here are the Atletico Madrid shirt numbers for 2016-17.

Club Atletico de Madrid v Valencia CF - La Liga Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

With Oliver Torres on the brink of making a permanent move to Portuguese giants Porto, the number 10 shirt was up for grabs at Atletico. Now we know who will inherit the shirt once worn by Arda Turan prior to his ignominious departure from the club.

Atletico’s new number 10 is Belgian attack Yannick Carrasco, who last season wore number 21. Here are the other shirt numbers for this season’s Atletico squad:

Number Player
1 Miguel Angel Moya
2 Diego Godin
3 Filipe Luis
4 Javier Manquillo
5 Tiago
6 Koke
7 Antoine Griezmann
8 Saul
9 Fernando Torres
10 Yannick Carrasco
11 Angel Correa
12 Augusto Fernandez
13 Jan Oblak
14 Gabi
15 Stefan Savic
16 Sime Vrsaljko
18 Diogo Jota
19 Lucas Hernandez
20 Juanfran
21 Kevin Gameiro
22 Thomas Partey
23 Nicolas Gaitan
24 Jose Gimenez
25 Andre Moreira

Any surprises in that list for you? I had wondered if Koke or Saul might take the number 10, but Carrasco probably makes the most sense. Griezmann isn’t giving up the seven shirt, six and eight are totally appropriate for Koke and Saul. Plus Carrasco figures to be a key man in this year’s squad.