clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atletico's president passive-aggressively accepts La Liga awards

Atletico Madrid President Enrique Cerezo is just relieved to see that his team haven't been forgotten about...again...

'As Del Deporte' Awards 2015 Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images

Following Atletico’s success at the La Liga awards gala, there’s a feeling amongst many that Diego Simeone’s side have finally broken the stranglehold by Barcelona and Real Madrid on the league. The ceremony celebrated the 2015-16 season, in which the Catalan side were able to reclaim the trophy they won the year prior, but the individual awards were dominated by Atleti.

Antoine Griezmann picked up Player of the Year, Jan Oblak was named Goalkeeper of the Year, Diego Godin scooped up Defender of the Year and Simeone was awarded Coach of the Year. Club President, Enrique Cerezo, was proud of his team’s achievements as he claimed the multiple prizes was long overdue

“At least this year they have remembered us, after many years of being ignored,” Cerezo said to Marca, via footballespana, before commenting on his pride at Griezmann winning the ultimate prize of the night, “Griezmann deserves this prize. We are very proud to have him at our club.”

Despite the title winning season of 2014, and the late season challenge in the campaign that has just passed, Atletico have failed to witness a night like this. Before all 3 players were chosen as the winners of their respective categories, Thibaut Courtois was the only Atletico member to receive an award since the awards were established back in 2009.

It’s a different story for Simeone, however, as his most recent win represents his third in four years. Luis Enrique ended a two-year run for the Argentine as he claimed Coach of the Year for the 2014-15 season, but Atletico’s beloved manager returned this year to take back a trophy that he may well be bringing home this time next year again, should los Colcheneros continue their fine form.